Follow Moray Council

Moray election results declared

Press release   •   May 06, 2016 02:58 BST

Declaration for Moray constituency in the 2016 Holyrood elections.

Richard Lochhead SNP: 15,742

Douglas Ross Conservative: 12,867

Sean Morton Labour: 3,547

Jamie Paterson Lib Dem: 1,265

Turnout: 54.1%, valid votes cast 33,421

For comparison, results of 2011 election as follows:

Lochhead, SNP 16,817

Ross, Conservative 5,873

Paterson, Lib Dem 1,327

K. Green, Labour 3,580


Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 92,500 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

Comments (0)

Add comment


By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's Privacy Policy.