Follow Moray Council

Elgin City North by-election results

Press release   •   Jul 14, 2017 12:09 BST

Gowans (SNP) 895
McLean (Con) 923
Monaghan (Ind) 124
Taylor (Lab) 365

First preference votes at Stage 1. Under STV, Terry Monaghan is excluded.


Gowans (SNP) 904
McLean (Con) 970
Taylor (Lab) 389

Total votes at Stage 2. Under STV, Nick Taylor is excluded.


Gowans (SNP) 994
McLean (Con) 1061

Total votes at Stage 3. Although no candidate reached the quota, Maria McLean has the most votes at Stage 3 and is therefore elected.

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 95,510 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

Comments (0)

Add comment


By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's Privacy Policy.