Follow Moray Council

Crofting Commission election

Press release   •   Jan 09, 2017 13:59 GMT

An election is being held to elect crofting commissioners from the six crofting constituencies across the north of Scotland.

The constituencies are:

  • Shetland
  • Orkney and Caithness
  • East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray)
  • Western Isles
  • West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh)
  • South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles
  • One commissioner will be elected from each constituency and will, along with the three commissioners appointed by the Scottish Government, make up the board of the Crofting Commission.

    Nomination forms and other documents relating to the election can be downloaded from

    Alternatively they can be obtained on request by e- mail from or from the election offices detailed in the Notice of Election. Completed nomination forms must be submitted by Thursday, January 26.

    An election will be held in each contested constituency by postal ballot, with votes having to be returned by 4pm on Thursday, March 16.The count will take place in the Town Hall, Point Street, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis HS1 2XF on Friday, March 17 at 10am.

    More information is available at

    Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 95,510 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

    Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

    Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

    Comments (0)

    Add comment


    By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's Privacy Policy.